‘Last Lecture’ Inspires Amazing Beginning

Dr. Randy Pausch died on Friday.

I finished reading his bestselling book, “The Last Lecture,” two nights before he passed away. I’m glad I did.

A lot of people have asked me, “Did you like the book?”

ANSWER: “I really did. I don’t know if I loved it, though.”

It was short and sweet – very to the point. I think the reason
I didn’t love it…I simply wanted more. 

What I did love were Dr. Pausch’s life lessons. I loved his advice. I loved his optimism. I loved his passion. He had an amazing perspective on life – right in the middle of a dog fight with the most aggressive and deadly types of cancer.

He does a great job of making you think about your own life – from your parents to your childhood dreams. He posed a very thought-provoking question when considering the topic of his lecture: “What makes me unique?”

Randy Pausch could have easily called his lecture “Do You Need Something to Blog About? I Can Help!” There isn’t a doubt in my mind that I will borrow some of his retrospective ideals, apply them to my own life, and share them on future posts.

Since I read the book, I know why Dr. Pausch agreed to give the lecture. (Don’t worry…I won’t spoil it for you.) But I also believe he did it to make us think – he wanted the people, who have a lifetime to do it, to start formulating, planning, and writing their own Last Lecture.

I found this clip on YouTube. (I thought it was little more appropriate for my blog – compared to the actual lecture, which is 1 hour and 16 minutes.) If you like the clip, I’ve included a couple of other links below it.

REPRISED LECTURE ON OPRAH (10 minutes long)

ENTIRE LECTURE  (1 hour and 16 minutes)

, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment